sharing my life experiences, reflections and insights as a mother, a writer, an Occupational Therapist and and a spiritual being having a human experience

Wildflowers: Part 2

Tonight, the song Wildflowers began to play on the speaker system at my coffee house spot where I come to write.  Funny thing is I was listening to my playlist while Billy Joel began to sing Pressure and I had to stop my playlist to hear Wildflowers.  As I listened, all I could think was that I don’t belong living this life of depression.  It is not who I am.  I don’t belong living this life of hiding and disappearing from my life.  I belong amount the wildflowers, feeling frees, full of life.  

I have been feeling a sense of hopefulness lately.  I’ve been healing from a long suffering respiratory illness that left me tired and worn, just like the depression.   I have son,any ,omens now where I just want more for my life.  Today! I took a walk at 1 pm.  Totally out of character but the weather was perfect and I was waiting to be able to go out since we are juggling 2 cars and three drivers right now.  

I took a walk! In the sunshine on a beautiful spring day! I even said to myself that I wanted to go hiking or exploring somewhere outside.  I had the desire to do that.  My back flared up while walking that put a damper on my idea but I decided it was minor and later went to the chiropractor and decided it didn’t need to define me.   I didn’t go on an outside adventure but I feel like I am so much closer to really living my life again. 

Sounds weird when I say it that way and doubts slip on. I can embrace that feeling and move on. I can choose to live my life howerver I choose.  I get to choose.  

I can choose to live among  the wildflowers…

…or not 

I can choose.

And now A great Big World sings so appropriately , “There is an answer”. 

I am just a sailor in a great big sea

Searching for what’s meant for me

And I thank my lucky stars every single day

I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be


When the storm begins to blow

When I’ve lost my way back home

Oh, there is an answer

Oh, there is an answer


There is a ripple to every wave

A rhythm to the days and nights

And all our thoughts, they make the world go round

All our efforts multiply
Make a change, and you will see

One small step is all we need

Oh, there is an answer

Oh, there is an answer


There is no difference between you and me

It lies beyond our history

And if we only take the time to see we’re all we need

Just take my hand, and see me as a brother


Look inside, and you will find

Love exists in every kind

Oh, there is an answer

Oh, there is an answer


Near or far, oh I believe that love will find us there

Through the dark, oh I believe that love will find us there

Oh, I believe that love will find us there

Oh, I believe that love will find us there

Oh, I believe that love will find us there


Oh, there is an answer

Thank you AtoZLyrics

And a huge thank you to Tom Petty and A Great Big World. 

 

Leave a Reply

