sharing my life experiences, reflections and insights as a mother, a writer, an Occupational Therapist and and a spiritual being having a human experience

First written: 11-21-07

Revised 9-17-10

I have been a member of Unity for almost 10 years and from that church I learned the phrase, “let go”.  Maybe I heard it before then but I had yet to embrace the phrase as I have embraced the ideas and beliefs of Unity.  These beliefs were not a stretch for me.  They felt natural and what I had believed all along but did not feel I had permission to believe.

Randolph the minister when we found Unity would say,

“Let Go and Let God”

Let go and let God

I spent many years reading books with that message and hearing his message spoken through him and other ministers. And part of me wondered what does it  really mean to “let go”?

On the surface it means to forget about something or to not try to solve it or fix it.  And adding …let God, means allow God into your life and allow God to help you.

As much as I embraced these ideas and later when I attended counseling with an EFT coach, I realized I needed to ask for divine assistance.  Asking for divine assistance was something I frequently forgot to do.

Putting these ideas together, I now have:

Let go, release the worry, the fear, the doubt, the need to solve it

And Let God assist me, guide me, take over and handle it for me.

A little nagging voice within me grimaces as I say, “handle it for me” because I am independent and I need to do things for myself!  I need to take control, be in charge.  I resist the idea that I will let God do it for me because I believe that God is part of me and I am part of God and so therefore,  I need to take care of it myself.

I need to consciously and actively make the choice to let go and maybe…

Maybe it is my ego I need to let go of and my desire to control.

And let God, my higher self, handle it.  Release my ego mind from trying to figure it all out and control it all.

This is why I feel the need to write about these things because it is in writing about them that I figure it out.  In writing, I find my truth and the answers I am seeking.  It is my way of letting go.  I let go of the idea that I need to have all the answers before I can write about something, before I can write something to share with others.  I can go ahead and do it anyhow!  I now let go of perfection paralysis and all the “not enoughs” that go through my mind.

You know, not enough money, not enough time. Not enough education, not enough knowledge, not enough experience, not enough of me.

On a spiritual level, I know that I am enough.  Or at least the teachings of Unity tell me that I am all that I need. And I need to remind my self of that frequently.  I declare to the universe that I am enough and I am sharing my truth with others because it is what I feel in my heart that I must do.  Writing is a part of me and sharing my truth through writing is who I am and it is what I now choose to be and express and experience.

Leave a Reply

